It Ends With Us

it ends with usSometimes the one who loves you is the one who hurts you the most. 

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true. 

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. 

As questions about her new relations hip overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan — her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threathened. 

I was not able to post for five months because of some unexpected circumstances.

But here I am, doing my first review for the year 2017! Yay!

It Ends with US… What can I say? I really loved this book. Learned a lot. Felt a lot… It was a mixture of happiness, anger, sadness, fear and everything else in between.

It was beautifully written in a way that you keep on reading the book until you realize you’re already on the last chapter.

I loved all the characters in this story including Ryle, although he’s stubborn and arrogant, etc.

I really don’t know how to go on with this review without spoiling you. I really want you to read this book. Maybe the next few lines are my thoughts and what I felt on this book (AND SPOILERS).

Ryle’s Behavior. I really felt sorry for Ryle… Although he did, what he did, I felt that I understand why he did it (oh my! Did I just use DID 3x??? LOL). He was trying, he was really trying to be a good husband to Lily but then I really do understand the decision of Lily to get a divorce and eventually get back with Atlas. I just felt that what Ryle needed was Lily’s honesty. It broke my heart even more for Ryle when Lily said that she wanted a divorce right after she gave birth, right after Ryle held their baby. Ouch.

Naked Truths. This is what I like about Lily and Ryle’s relationship, they tell naked truths — that is why I was so angry at Lily when she did not tell Ryle about that stupid Ref magnet. I feel that there’s something wrong while reading that part and why can’t Lily feel it?? But then… I understand why Lily did not tell him the truth (TORN) but how i wished she just told him — I think that will really change how they ended up.

I was really torn while I’m reading this book. I am torn.

Ellen Letters. I love how the story of Atlas and Lily were told through the letters of Lily to Ellen (though they were never sent). I came to love Atlas as well, how he was so protective of Lily, how he cared for Lily and how he would do everything to make her happy.

ATLAS VS RYLE. I think I kind of understand Ryle more and I am into his character more because he was more human to me (Did I just use more 3x??? LOL) , in a way that he has several flaws and he is not perfect. I see Atlas as someone who is perfect… An ideal kind of guy (which I think is so hard to find these days!) But don’t get me wrong… I love both characters… I know the history of Atlas but I’m just really into the good character who sometimes do bad things.

Just keep Swimming. I loved this line… Finding nemo was one of my favorite cartoons and Dory is my favorite character. I used how it was used by Atlas and Lily in their life’s journey. How this simple statement helped them to keep going on and moving on from their lives. And I really love what Atlas told Lily at the end of the story… “You can stop swimming now, Lily. We finally reached the shore.”

The other characters. Marshall, Alyssa and Lily’s mother — i loved them all. Their characters were strong in so many ways. I love how Colleen Hoover writes about these characters – you would easily fall in love with them and somehow can relate to these characters and understand everything about them.

Sometimes even grown women need their mother’s comfort so we can just take a break from having to be strong all the time. I really felt like crying when I read this line. I think there is no better support than family… most especially mothers.

Domestic Violence. This is really the center of this story, at first I thought that it was just a love triangle but then this story shows the struggle of a woman under an abusive man. The struggle of being a single mother. The struggle in every relationship. The struggle of decision making and struggle to go on with life.

I gave this book 4.5 out 5 stars just because  I want something more. I need more. What happened to Atlas and Lily? How will Lily tell her ex-husband about Atlas???

Leave a Reply

